# Cloosiv Financial Model

White-label mobile order-ahead app for independent and mid-market coffee chains, monetised via a per-order take-rate paid by the merchant.

- Canonical: https://finamodel.com/startups/cloosiv
- Excel download: https://finamodel.com/startup-models/cloosiv.xlsx
- Category: Marketplace
- Model type: SaaS ARR / Valuation
- Funding round: Seed
- Funding: $6M
- Founded: 2019
- Geography: United States [DECK, slide 1].
- Customer: B2C

## About the company

Cloosiv is a white-label mobile order-ahead platform for independent and mid-market coffee chains. Its POS-agnostic software helps merchants offer branded ordering, loyalty, referrals, rewards, and promotions without relying on a generic consumer marketplace.

The company charges merchants a tiered percentage of order value - 12%, 10%, or 8% depending on monthly order volume - plus an optional merchant upgrade and a small consumer transaction fee. The deck showed GMV growing 40% month over month, though absolute transaction figures were not disclosed.

The model is driven by coffee-shop locations, orders per location, and average order value. Those inputs create GMV and determine the applicable tiered take rate; upgrade fees and consumer charges sit alongside it. Merchant activation, order frequency, pricing, and incentive spend are the main levers for revenue and contribution margin.

## What's included

- 5-year monthly revenue build with stage-appropriate growth assumptions
- Full P&L, headcount plan, and operating-expense schedule
- Cash-flow statement, runway, and burn-rate tracking
- Valuation via exit multiple with a DCF cross-check
- Returns analysis with MOIC and IRR
- Unit economics including CAC, LTV, payback, and cohort retention

## Product & value proposition

- Consumer-facing mobile app enabling order-ahead at local and mid-market coffee shops.
- POS-agnostic integration - works alongside any existing point-of-sale system.
- Tailored to independent coffee shop branding and workflows; not a generic marketplace.
- Consumer incentives: $3 off first order, $5/user referral (up to 5 friends = $25 max), in-app rewards, in-store promotional kits.
- Four strategic pillars: Point-of-sale agnostic, Tailored Function, Repetitive Value, Network Availability.
- Future product expansion roadmap: Channel Expansion, Social Engagement, Loaded Balance (stored value), Targeted Marketing.

## Market

- Independent coffee shops annual sales: $20B.
- Starbucks: $10B, Dunkin': $5B, McDonald's: $3B, Peet's: $1B - provided as context for scale.
- Starbucks app gross volume grew from $0.25B (2011) to $5B (2019) - used as proof of mobile-order adoption.
- Target segment (2019–2020): small specialty chains with 10–30 US locations (e.g. Not Just Coffee 10, Gregory's 29, Birch Coffee 11).
- Target segment (2021–2023): mid-market chains with 14–60 locations (e.g. Blue Bottle 52, La Colombe 30, Stumptown 14).

## Revenue model

Three revenue streams, all merchant-side (consumer pays nothing beyond the order):

**Stream 1 - Tiered per-order take-rate (primary)**:
- 12% on orders 1–50/month per location
- 10% on orders 51–150/month per location
- 8% on orders 151+/month per location
- Take-rate applies to gross order value (GMV); paid by the coffee shop.

**Stream 2 - Optional merchant service upgrade**:
- $499 one-time (or recurring - cadence not stated) fee per merchant location.

**Stream 3 - Per-swipe consumer service fee**:
- $0.10 per transaction charged to the consumer (in addition to order value).

## Traction & metrics

- GMV growth rate: +40% month-over-month.
- Time series shown (Jul 2018 – Aug 2019) for: GMV, Mobile Orders, Active Users, Coffee Shops on platform, Total Monthly Revenue - all charts show consistent upward trajectory with similar shape.
- All absolute axis values are redacted ("$X" / "X") in every chart - no specific GMV, order, user, or revenue levels can be extracted from the deck.
- Total Monthly Revenue (slide 22): sharp spike at Aug 2019 with footnote "PIVOT TO NEW PRICING MODEL" - implies a meaningful change in revenue recognition or rate structure at that date.
- Case study - Not Just Coffee (est. 2011): Locations, Users, Orders, Volume all redacted (placeholder zeros shown).
- Case study - Piccolo Coffee Co.: Same - all metrics redacted.

## Unit economics

- Blended effective take-rate: 8–12% of GMV depending on shop order volume.
- Consumer acquisition cost signals: $3 first-order discount + $5/referral (max $25/referral chain of 5); no total CAC figure disclosed.

## Competition / moat

- Implicit competitive frame: Starbucks has its own proprietary app; independent shops have none - Cloosiv fills that gap.
- Named competitors: not explicitly listed; deck positions Cloosiv as the only POS-agnostic shared app for independents.
- Moat claims: POS-agnostic architecture, network effects (ubiquity across locations makes the consumer app stickier), tailored coffee-shop UX vs. generic delivery marketplaces.
- Largest chains (Starbucks 12,938 locations, Dunkin' 8,573) explicitly excluded from target - deck focuses on 10–60 location chains and independents.

## Team & funding ask / use of funds

**Team**:
- Tim Griffin - CEO (Product, Sales & Marketing)
- James Burkhardt - CTO (Engineering & User Experience)
- Jessie Kolbenschlag - Sales (Business Development & Customer Service)

**Ask & use of funds**:
- Raising: $1,000,000
- Use: Product, Sales & Marketing
- Post-raise targets: Add 800+ coffee shops; achieve $60K+ monthly net revenue.

---

## Recommended financial model

**Archetype + why:**
Marketplace GMV model with tiered take-rate revenue. Cloosiv's economics are driven by the number of merchant locations, orders per location per month (which determines which take-rate tier applies), average order value, and consumer fee attach. This is structurally a two-sided marketplace with a dominant merchant monetisation layer, not a pure SaaS ARR model (no recurring merchant subscription as the primary line), though the $499 merchant upgrade adds a SaaS-lite component.

**Forecast horizon & granularity:**
- 3 years monthly (Sep 2019 – Aug 2022) to match the deck's 2019–2023 targeting roadmap.
- Monthly granularity driven by the deck's own monthly traction reporting and the tiered take-rate (which resets monthly per location).

**Key drivers & assumptions:**

*Merchant side:*
- Beginning coffee shop count: ~current level implied by Jul 2018–Aug 2019 ramp; exact base unknown - model should parameterise this and sensitise.
- New shops added per month: accelerating post-funding; deck target is 800+ shops post-raise - implies ~30–50 new shops/month over 18–24 months.
- Shop churn rate (monthly): 2–3% - no data in deck; small-business mortality is meaningful.
- Average orders per location per month: start in the 1–50 bracket (12% tier), grow toward 51–150 bracket (10% tier) over 12–18 months as consumer adoption deepens.
- Average order value (AOV): $6–8 - typical specialty coffee ticket; not disclosed in deck.
- GMV growth rate: +40% MoM - use as historical anchor; model should show deceleration as base grows.

*Revenue lines:*
- Take-rate revenue = GMV × effective blended take-rate (function of orders/location distribution across tiers).
- Merchant upgrade revenue = new shops signed × adoption rate × $499; adoption rate 20–30%.
- Consumer swipe fee = total orders × $0.10.

*Cost side (not in deck - all ASSUMED):*
- Payment processing: ~2.5–3% of GMV (Stripe/Braintree standard rates) - must be deducted; material against an 8–12% take-rate.
- Hosting / infrastructure: $2–5K/month scaling with order volume.
- Sales & marketing (post-raise): ~40–50% of raise allocated here per use-of-funds framing.
- Headcount: 3 founders currently; 2–4 hires post-raise.
- Consumer acquisition cost: $5–10/user (referral mechanics imply $5 base cost + discount amortisation).

*Target / milestone:*
- $60K+ monthly net revenue post-raise - use as a model calibration checkpoint.

**Scenarios (Base / Bull / Bear - which variables flex):**
- Base: 40 new shops/month post-raise, AOV $7, orders/location growing to mid-tier (51–150) by month 12.
- Bull: 60+ new shops/month (viral referrals, strong sales team), AOV $8, shops accelerate to 151+ tier sooner - take-rate compresses to 8% but volume more than offsets.
- Bear: 20 new shops/month (slower B2B sales cycle), higher shop churn (4%), orders/location stay in lowest tier (12% rate, but low volume base).

**Required sheets / outputs:**
1. Assumptions - all drivers in one place, flagged vs.
2. Merchant cohort model - monthly adds, churn, active shop count by cohort; orders/location ramp per cohort.
3. GMV build - active shops × orders/location × AOV.
4. Revenue - take-rate by tier (requires order distribution across tiers), merchant upgrade fees, swipe fees.
5. Cost build - processing fees (% of GMV), S&M, headcount, infrastructure.
6. P&L summary - net revenue, gross profit, operating expenses, EBITDA.
7. Cash / runway - burn rate vs. $1M raise; months to $60K MRR milestone.
8. Dashboard - GMV, MRR, active shops, active users, effective take-rate, months of runway.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is the Cloosiv financial model free?

Yes. The Cloosiv model is a free Excel download with live formulas.

### Can I change the assumptions?

Yes. The workbook is editable and its live formulas recalculate when assumptions change.
