# Otovo Financial Model

B2B2C e-commerce marketplace connecting European homeowners with local solar installers, with a growing subscription/leasing layer on top.

- Canonical: https://finamodel.com/startups/otovo
- Excel download: https://finamodel.com/startup-models/otovo.xlsx
- Category: Climate/Energy
- Model type: Marketplace / GMV
- Funding round: Venture
- Funding: $30M
- Founded: 2022
- Geography: Europe; 7 countries as of 2021 (Norway, Sweden, France, Spain, Poland, Italy, Germany); targeting 15+ by 2023. [DECK slide 8, 12]
- Customer: B2B

## About the company

Otovo is an online marketplace for residential solar and batteries, where homeowners receive instant quotes and local installers bid for work. It operates across European markets without holding solar hardware or logistics, and also offers leasing or subscription products.

Its core commercial engine is commission on completed installations, with batteries, subscriptions, and eventually virtual-power-plant services intended to improve gross profit per customer. Otovo reported about 2,000 installations in 2020 and 5,000 in 2021, supported by a network of more than 500 installer companies.

The model should forecast installations by country and channel, installation value, and marketplace take rate. Add a separate cohort schedule for leased customers because recurring gross profit is materially higher than direct sales; battery attach, customer acquisition, installer capacity, and country-launch timing should determine the growth and margin cases.

## What's included

- 5-year monthly revenue build with stage-appropriate growth assumptions
- Full P&L, headcount plan, and operating-expense schedule
- Cash-flow statement, runway, and burn-rate tracking
- Valuation via exit multiple with a DCF cross-check
- Returns analysis with MOIC and IRR
- Unit economics including CAC, LTV, payback, and cohort retention

## Product & value proposition

- E-commerce platform for residential solar (and batteries) - fully online, no home visits required.
- Homeowners get instant online quotes; installers bid on projects, order inventory, and complete installations.
- Leasing / subscription model available as an alternative to outright purchase.
- Product stack (ascending value / margin ladder): Solar → Batteries → Subscription → Virtual Power Plant (VPP).
- Network of 500+ installer companies across EU; Otovo holds no hardware or logistics responsibility.
- "Otovo-as-a-service" white-label / partnership channel also referenced.

## Market

- European residential solar new installations (2024e estimate by market bucket):
  - Existing Otovo markets (7 countries incl. NO, SE, FR, ES, PL, IT): ~500k installs/year
  - New markets (Germany highlighted as first new entry): ~200k installs/year
  - Unaddressed markets with strong potential (CZ, PT, CH, AT, BE, NL, UK and others): ~600k installs/year
  - Unaddressed low-potential (11 small EU countries): <100k installs/year
  - Implied total addressable European residential market 2024e: ~1.3–1.4M installs/year
- Country-level solar capacity growth 2022–2025 (Solar Power Europe data cited):
  - Germany: 59.9 GW → 107.6 GW (+10% CAGR)
  - Spain: 17.9 GW → 38.8 GW (+20% CAGR)
  - Netherlands: 13.1 GW → 30.2 GW (+23% CAGR)
  - France: 13.2 GW → 28.3 GW (+21% CAGR)
  - Poland: 7.1 GW → 16.8 GW (+24% CAGR)
  - Denmark: 2.8 GW → 11.7 GW (+43% CAGR)
  - Italy: 22.0 GW → 29.1 GW (+7% CAGR)
  - Portugal: 1.5 GW → 6.6 GW (+44% CAGR)
  - Sweden: 1.8 GW → 6.3 GW (+37% CAGR)
  - Ireland: 0.1 GW → 2.8 GW (+120% CAGR)
- Regulatory tailwinds: 0% VAT on solar panels proposed EU-wide; country subsidies (Norway Enova up to NOK 47,500; Italy 50% Eco-bonus; Germany 60bn EUR climate fund).
- No explicit EUR TAM figure stated in deck.

## Revenue model

- Primary: take-rate / marketplace commission on each solar installation sold through the platform. Exact % not disclosed.
- Secondary (scaling): Leasing / subscription - homeowner pays recurring fee; Otovo captures higher gross profit per customer (+3–4x vs. direct sale).
- Tertiary (future): Batteries add-on sold alongside solar (+~1.5x gross profit per customer by 2023E vs. 2021).
- Future: Virtual Power Plant (VPP) aggregation layer - referenced as the highest-value tier but no financial detail given.
- Channels: online direct (e-commerce), partnerships / Otovo-as-a-service, organic/referral.
- Unit of volume: "# of Otovo sales p.a." = completed residential solar installations.

## Traction & metrics

- 2020 sales: ~2,000 installations
- 2021 sales: ~5,000 installations
- 7 markets live as of 2021 (Norway '16, Sweden '18, France '19, Spain '19, Poland '20, Italy '21, Germany '21)
- 500+ installer companies in network across EU
- Country launch speed improving: months from GM hire to 50 projects sold - country #6: 8 months; #5: 6 months; #4: 5 months; #3: 5 months; #2: 4 months; Germany (#7): 3 months
- Q4 2021 electricity prices (EUR/MWh, 6 Dec): Sweden 290, France 283, Italy 270, Germany 265, Poland 240, Spain 209, Norway 166 - cited as demand catalyst driving record-low CAC
- "3x consumer interest" and "Record low CAC" claimed on online channels due to high energy prices - no absolute CAC figure given.

## Unit economics

- Gross profit per customer: growing ~1.5x from 2021 to 2023E (absolute level not disclosed)
- Adding batteries targets doubling gross profit per combined customer
- Subscription/leasing vs. direct sale: gross profit per customer +3–4x for subscription
- Direct sales model: operational break-even 2–3 years after entering a new market
- Subscription model: described as "unlocking dividends" (i.e., cash-generative once at scale)
- CAC: "Record low" claimed; absolute number not given

## Competition / moat

- Moat claimed: first pan-European residential solar marketplace; pure-play platform (asset-light, no hardware/logistics risk); volume-driven hardware procurement advantages as scale grows; lower cost of capital via scale; partnership opportunities at scale; country diversification reduces political risk.
- No named competitors cited in deck.
- Comparison point: top 3 US residential solar players (unnamed) had yearly installations in a reference range shown on slide 13 chart - used to illustrate Otovo's 2025E target would be comparable to leading US players.

## Team & funding ask / use of funds

- CEO: Andreas Thorsheim (+47 93 06 51 78, at@otovo.com)
- CFO: Lars Ekeland (+47 91 60 70 53, larsek@otovo.com)
- Germany GM: Christian Rahn - 4th-time platform GM; prior GM at BlaBlaCar, Zmarta Group, Lastminute.com
- Funding ask: Equity Private Placement; exact size not stated in deck
- Use of funds: accelerate entry into new European markets (target 15+ countries by 2023)

---

## Recommended financial model

- **Archetype + why:** Marketplace volume-based P&L with a subscription revenue overlay. The primary driver is # of installations (units sold), from which you derive take-rate revenue. The secondary, higher-margin layer is the subscription/leasing book (stock of recurring contracts). This is structurally similar to a marketplace GMV model (think Etsy or Faire) combined with a growing subscription ARR cohort - not a pure SaaS and not a 3-statement from scratch without more data.

- **Forecast horizon & granularity:** 2020A–2025E; annual columns (monthly granularity not supportable - no monthly data in deck). Five-year horizon matches the deck's own business plan chart.

- **Key drivers & assumptions:**

  *Volume (installations):*
  - 2020A installations: 2,000
  - 2021A installations: 5,000
  - 2022E installations: ~10,000
  - 2023E installations: 20,000–25,000 (midpoint 22,500)
  - 2024E installations: 50,000–60,000 (midpoint 55,000)
  - 2025E installations: 80,000–90,000 (midpoint 85,000)
  - Split between organic (base) and funding-enabled incremental growth shown as stacked bars but absolute splits not labelled

  *Revenue per installation:*
  - Implied revenue per install (direct): ~€1,000

  *Subscription mix:*
  - GP per subscription customer: +3–4x vs. direct - 

  *Gross profit per installation (direct sale):*
  - 2023E GP/unit: ~1.5x 2021 baseline = ~€1,500

  *Market expansion:*
  - Countries in 2021: 7
  - Countries in 2023: 15+
  - New market ramp: break-even in 2–3 years per country

  *Cost structure:*
  - No COGS/opex breakdown in deck.
  - CAC: "Record low" but no number.

- **Scenarios (Base / Bull / Bear - which variables flex):**
  - Base: installations per deck midpoints; subscription mix grows to 20% by 2025; batteries at 20% attach.
  - Bull: installations hit upper deck range (25k/60k/90k); subscription mix 30% by 2025; battery attach 35%; 2 additional high-potential markets launched early.
  - Bear: installations at lower deck range (20k/50k/80k); subscription slower (10% by 2025); battery attach 10%; one new market delayed 12 months; energy prices normalise reducing organic demand.

- **Required sheets / outputs:**
  1. Assumptions - all drivers in one tab, clearly tagged vs.
  2. Volume Build - installations by country/cohort; subscription book build (opening stock, new sales, churn, closing stock)
  3. Revenue Bridge - direct sales revenue, battery revenue, subscription revenue, VPP (placeholder)
  4. Gross Profit - by revenue stream; blended GP margin
  5. OpEx - S&M (new market launch costs, CAC × acquisitions), G&A, platform/R&D (ASSUMED splits)
  6. P&L Summary - revenue → EBITDA by year 2020A–2025E
  7. Scenario toggle - Base / Bull / Bear switcher on assumptions tab
  8. KPI Dashboard - # installs p.a., subscription book size, GP/install, blended GP margin, markets live

## Frequently asked questions

### Is the Otovo financial model free?

Yes. The Otovo model is a free Excel download with live formulas.

### Can I change the assumptions?

Yes. The workbook is editable and its live formulas recalculate when assumptions change.
