# Spora Health Financial Model

Culturally-competent omnichannel primary care platform targeting Black Americans and People of Color.

- Canonical: https://finamodel.com/startups/spora-health
- Excel download: https://finamodel.com/startup-models/spora-health.xlsx
- Category: Health-tech
- Model type: SaaS ARR / Valuation
- Funding round: Seed
- Funding: $3M
- Founded: 2021
- Geography: United States (implied by racial health disparity framing; no specific city/state named).
- Customer: B2B2C

## About the company

Spora Health is a culturally competent omnichannel primary-care platform for Black Americans and People of Color. It combines virtual and in-person care with a model designed around underserved patient populations, where access, trust, and continuity can influence engagement and outcomes.

The business can sell through payers and employers while scaling care delivery through members, visits, and clinician capacity. Its unit economics depend on PMPM revenue, utilisation, local care access, patient retention, and the ability to demonstrate appropriate outcomes for institutional partners.

The model forecasts members, payer or employer contracts, PMPM revenue, visit use, clinician capacity, outcomes, and renewal. It includes care-team labour, clinical operations, member acquisition, technology costs, gross margin, operating cash flow, cash burn, and runway.

## What's included

- 5-year monthly revenue build with stage-appropriate growth assumptions
- Full P&L, headcount plan, and operating-expense schedule
- Cash-flow statement, runway, and burn-rate tracking
- Valuation via exit multiple with a DCF cross-check
- Returns analysis with MOIC and IRR
- Unit economics including CAC, LTV, payback, and cohort retention

## Product & value proposition

- Mobile/web app connecting members to a care team (virtual care, health plans, content, community).
- Affiliated bricks-and-mortar partner practices for in-person care.
- App functions as hub routing members to the right service at the right moment.
- The Spora Institute: online cultural-competence training modules for providers; self-directed adult learning designed to improve patient outcomes.
- Mission framing: closing racial health disparities (higher asthma/breast cancer mortality, "weathering effect").

## Market

- TAM: $1T Primary Care Market, 111M People of Color in the US.
- SAM: $386B Black American Primary Care Market, 42M Black Americans.

## Revenue model

- Direct-to-consumer: affordable membership pricing for insured and uninsured members. Specific price point not disclosed.
- Employer channel: sold as an employee benefit.
- Implied third revenue stream: The Spora Institute (provider training/licensing) - pricing not disclosed.
- No PMPM, subscription fee, or per-visit fee disclosed in deck.

## Traction & metrics

- Membership Growth: 1,800% MoM. Absolute member count or starting base not disclosed.
- No revenue figures, ARR, customer count, or retention rates disclosed.

## Competition / moat

Competitors named:
- Startups: Kiira Health, ConsejoSano, Juno Medical.
- Incumbents: One Medical, Amwell, Doctor On Demand.
- Moat claimed: cultural competence and community focus for Black/POC patients; The Spora Institute as a defensible training IP layer. No explicit moat language used in deck.

## Team & funding ask / use of funds

Team:
- Dan Miller - Founder & CEO; ex-Lambda School, SurveyMonkey, Salesforce.
- Dr. Terrell Smith - Founding Physician; MD (UVA), MPH (UC Berkeley).
- Waco Holve - Data Scientist; ex-Clearwater Analytics.
- Justin Bean - VP of Engineering; serial founding engineer.
- Maria Cortez - Clinical Operations; formerly 1st employee at Paloma Health.
- Team headline: "Over 15 years experience building digital health products".

Funding ask: "Seed Plus Raise" stated on cover. Dollar amount, valuation, and use of funds not disclosed.

## Recommended financial model

- Archetype + why: **Membership-based DTC healthcare P&L + B2B employer channel**, similar to a hybrid subscription/PMPM model. Two distinct revenue lines (consumer memberships + employer contracts) with a potential third line for Spora Institute licensing. Not a pure SaaS ARR model - patient membership is the core unit; employer deals are bulk seat purchases. A 3-statement with a monthly membership cohort build-up is the right structure.
- Forecast horizon & granularity: 3 years, monthly for Year 1, quarterly for Years 2–3.
- Key drivers & assumptions:
  - **SAM penetration rate** - starting member count implied very small (1,800% MoM growth off a tiny base); model from a seed-stage base of ~50–200 members at t=0.
  - **Monthly member growth rate** - 1,800% MoM cited but this is a point-in-time spike, not sustainable; model decelerates rapidly to ~20–40% MoM in near term, normalizing to 5–10% MoM by month 12.
  - **Consumer membership price (PMPM)** - not disclosed; benchmark against One Medical ($199/yr ~$17/mo) and Cityblock (~$150–$300 PMPM for high-acuity); assume $25–$50/mo consumer price.
  - **Employer seat price** - not disclosed; assume $30–$60 PMPM per covered life with employer volume discounts.
  - **Consumer vs. employer revenue mix** - not disclosed; start 80% DTC / 20% employer in Year 1, shifting to 50/50 by Year 3 as B2B scales.
  - **Gross margin** - not disclosed; digital health primary care typically 40–60% gross margin net of provider costs.
  - **Provider cost per member** - key COGS driver; virtual-first model keeps cost low but affiliated brick-and-mortar adds variable cost; model at $10–$20 PMPM provider cost.
  - **CAC (consumer)** - not disclosed; community/cultural targeting may lower CAC; assume $50–$150 blended DTC CAC.
  - **CAC (employer)** - not disclosed; B2B sales cycle; assume $500–$2,000 per employer deal yielding ~50–200 covered lives.
  - **Churn / retention** - not disclosed; primary care has naturally high retention if quality is good; assume 5–10% monthly churn (DTC) and annual contract renewal for employer.
  - **Spora Institute revenue** - not in deck with sufficient detail; treat as optional upside line; exclude from base case.
  - **Headcount / OpEx** - 5 named team members at seed; model 8–12 FTEs by end of Year 1 including clinical staff, growing to 25–35 by Year 3.
  - **Funding ask (Seed Plus)** - amount unknown; typical Seed+ in digital health is $3M–$8M; model two scenarios: $3M and $6M raised.
- Scenarios (Base / Bull / Bear - which variables flex):
  - **Bear**: Slow employer adoption; DTC growth decelerates to 10% MoM by month 6; churn at 12% monthly; gross margin compressed to 35%.
  - **Base**: Moderate employer ramp; DTC growth ~20% MoM normalizing; churn 7%; GM ~50%.
  - **Bull**: Employer deals land fast (one large employer anchor by month 6); DTC viral growth sustained; churn <5%; Spora Institute generates licensing revenue by Year 2.
- Required sheets / outputs:
  1. Assumptions - all drivers in one place with scenario toggle (Base/Bull/Bear).
  2. Membership Model - monthly cohort build (new members, churned members, active members by channel).
  3. Revenue - consumer PMPM × active members + employer PMPM × covered lives + optional Institute line.
  4. P&L (Income Statement) - revenue, COGS (provider costs), gross profit, S&M (CAC × new members), R&D, G&A, EBITDA.
  5. Cash Flow - burn rate, cash balance, runway given raise amount.
  6. Balance Sheet - simplified (cash, deferred revenue, payables).
  7. KPI Dashboard - active members, MoM growth, PMPM, LTV, CAC, LTV/CAC, gross margin, monthly burn, runway.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is the Spora Health financial model free?

Yes. The Spora Health model is a free Excel download with live formulas.

### Can I change the assumptions?

Yes. The workbook is editable and its live formulas recalculate when assumptions change.
